• Nominations
  • Related Links
  • The Department of Biostatistics at the Harvard School of Public Health named Nilanjan Chatterjee, Ph.D., Senior Investigator and Chief, Biostatistics Branch, Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics, National Cancer Institute, the 2013 Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lecturer. Dr. Chatterjee presented a lecture on Thursday, September 19, at the Harvard School of Public Health in Kresge G2. The title of the talk was "Genetic Architecture of Complex Diseases: Implications for Discovery, Prediction and Prevention". A reception was held following the lecture.

    The lectureship was established in perpetuity in memory of Dr. Myrto Lefkopoulou, a faculty member and graduate of Harvard School of Public Health. Dr. Lefkopoulou tragically died of cancer in 1992 at the age of 34 after a courageous two-year battle. She was deeply beloved by friends, students, and faculty.

    Each year the Myrto Lefkopoulou Lectureship is awarded to a promising statistician who has made contributions to either collaborative or methodologic research in the applications of statistical methods to biology or medicine, and/or who has shown excellence in the teaching of biostatistics. Ordinarily, the lectureship is given to a statistician who has earned a doctorate in the last fifteen years. The lecture is presented to a general scientific audience as the first Department colloquium of each academic year. The lectureship includes travel to Boston, a reception following the lecture, and an honorarium of $1000. Previous recipients of the Lefkopoulou Memorial Lectureship have been Rafael Irizarry, Jeffery Morris, David Dunson, Xihong Lin, Heping Zhang, Francesca Dominici, Jianqing Fan, Mark van der Laan, Geert Molenberghs, Marie Davidian, Danyu Lin, Bradley P. Carlin, Steven N. Goodman, Ronald Brookmeyer, Michael Boehnke, Trevor Hastie, Hans-Georg Mueller, Giovanni Parmigiani, Kathryn Roeder, and Louise Ryan.


    Nominations for next year's lectureship are welcome and should be sent to the following address or made by e-mail by clicking on this link:

    Myrto Lefkopoulou Lecture Committee
    Department of Biostatistics
    Harvard School of Public Health
    655 Huntington Avenue, Bldg. 2, 4th Floor
    Boston, MA 02115

    Nominations should include a letter of nomination and a C.V. All nominations must be received by April 15, 2014.

    Related Links

  • Nilanjan Chatterjee
  • National Cancer Institute Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics
  • Harvard School of Public Health
  • Maintained by Biostatistics Web Master
    Last Update: March 5, 2014