Marvin Zelen Leadership Award in Statistical Science

  • Nominations
  • Related Links
  • Past Awardees
  • The Department of Biostatistics at the Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health has named Nan Laird, Ph.D., Harvey V. Fineberg Professor of Public Health, and Professor of Biostatistics, Harvard University, as the recipient of the 2015 Marvin Zelen Leadership Award in Statistical Science. The lecture entitled "DerSimonian and Laird on Meta-Analysis:  Three Second" will be given at the Joseph B. Martin Conference Center located at 77 Louis Pasteur on Friday, May 22 at 1:00 pm, and a Memorial Service in honor of Dr. Marvin Zelen will begin at 2:30 pm. There will be a Reception following the Memorial at Sebastian's Café at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

    Please visit our Memorial website for more information at: or contact Meagan Plante at or 617-432-6055.

    This annual award, supported by colleagues, friends and family, was established to honor Dr. Marvin Zelen's long and distinguished career as a statistician and his major role in shaping the field of biostatistics.

    The award recognizes an individual in government, industry, or academia, who by virtue of his/her outstanding leadership, has greatly impacted the theory and practice of statistical science. While individual accomplishments are considered, the most distinguishing criterion is the awardee's contribution to the creation of an environment in which statistical science and its applications have flourished. The award recipient will deliver a public lecture on statistical science at the Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health and will be presented with a citation and an honorarium.


    Nominations for next year's award, to be given in May 2016, are welcome and should be sent to the following address or made by e-mail by clicking on this link:

    Marvin Zelen Leadership Award Committee
    Department of Biostatistics
    Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health
    655 Huntington Avenue, Bldg. 2, 4th Floor
    Boston, MA 02115

    Nominations should include a letter describing the contributions of the candidate, specifically highlighting the criteria for the award, and a curriculum vita. Supporting letters and materials would be extremely helpful to the committee.

    All nominations must be received by December 1, 2015.

    Related Links

  • Dr. Nan Laird
  • Maintained by Biostatistics Web Master
    Last Update: May 11, 2015