Last September, Dr. Michael Boehnke, Professor of Biostatistics at the School of Public Health, University of Michigan presented the second annual Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lecture. Dr. Boehnke spoke on "Statistical Methods for Gene Mapping by Using Radiation Hybrids". A reception was held following the lecture

The Department has named Dr. Hans-George Mueller, Professor at the Division of Biostatistics, University of California, Davis the third annual Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lecturer. Dr. Mueller will speak on "Trajectories of Mortality" at 4:00 p.m. on Monday, October 2, 1995 at the Harvard School of Public Health.

The lectureship was established two years ago in perpetuity in memory of Dr. Myrto Lefkopoulou, a faculty member and graduate of Harvard School of Public Health deeply beloved and admired by many. Dr. Lefkopoulou died of cancer in 1992 at the age of 34 after a courageous two-year battle. This annual lectureship is a memorial to a brilliant career which was shortened.

Each year the lectureship is awarded to a promising statistician with contributions to either collaborative or methodologic research in the applications of statistical methods to biology or medicine and/or excellence in the teaching of biostatistics. Ordinarily, the lectureship is given to a statistician within 15 years of receiving an earned doctorate. The lectureship includes travel to Boston, a reception following the lecture, and an honorarium of $1000.

Nominations for next year's lectureship are welcome and should be sent to the Myrto Lefkopoulou Lecture Committee, Department of Biostatistics, Harvard School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115. Nominations should include a letter of nomination and a C.V. The deadline for submission of nominations is March 15, 1996.

Last modified $Date: 1995/09/15 13:38:57 $ by Ribika Moses