Committee Members


One person from each department appointed by the department chair, the associate dean for professional education, and two student representatives appointed by the Student Coordinating Committee. Because a CEP member represents the faculty of her/his respective department, the department chair should appoint a CEP member based on the member’s qualifications as a representative of the department’s faculty. The CEP member is responsible for bringing pertinent CEP information to the faculty in her/his respective department and for carrying out CEP assignments within the department. Several administrators participate in CEP meetings and activities as nonvoting members.

Executive Members:

Russ Hauser, Frederick Lee Hisaw Professor of Reproductive Physiology, Chair

  • responsible for leading CEP meetings, appointing CEP subcommittees, and conducting CEP business such as writing letters and making presentations to the faculty on behalf of the CEP

S.V. Subarmanian, Professor of Society, Human Development and Health, Vice-Chair

  • may serve as chair in the absence of the CEP Chair
Department Representatives:

Manoj Duraisingh, Assistant Professor of Immunology and Infectious Diseases
Sonia Hernandez-Diaz, Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Nancy Kane, Professor of Management, Health Policy and Management
S.V. Subramanian, Associate Professor of Society, Human Development, and Health
Daniel Wikler, Mary B. Saltonstall Profess of Population Ethics and Professor of Ethics and Population Health
David Wypij, Senior Lecturer on Biostatistics
Zhi Min Yuan, Assistant Professor of Genetics and Complex Diseases
TBD, Professor of Nutrition and Epidemiology


Michelle Bell, Assistant Dean for Educational Programs
Roberta Gianfortoni, Assistant Dean for Professional Programs
Stacey Herman, Associate Dean for Student Services
Ian Lapp, Associate Dean for Strategic Educational Initiatives
Nancy Turnbull, Senior Lecturer on Health Policy, Associate Dean for Educational Programs

Student Representatives:

Emilia Ling, SM2 student in the Department of Epidemiology
Katherine Silkaitis, SD student in the Department of Environmental Health

Subcommittee – A subset of CEP membership formed to carry out a specific task. The subcommittee will consists of CEP members appointed by the CEP chair and other members of the Harvard Chan School community, as appropriate.

Voting members – Those members of the CEP who are eligible to vote during CEP meetings.  Voting members are the faculty members on the CEP who represent a department, the students who serve on the CEP, and the associate dean for professional education. Non-voting members are those CEP members who serve in an administrative or consulting capacity.