Latest Notes

Notes – 4/4/2015

dckryI have a few nice news items to share about the department as springtime finally takes hold of New England.

First, we congratulate Christa Wright who has been named a Yerby Fellow by the School. Christa is currently a postdoc in our MIPS program. We are delighted that Christa was selected for this honor, and that she will remain in our department. Joe Brain will be her mentor. Congratulations Christa!

Emily Sparer successfully defended her dissertation entitled “Improving Health and Safety in Construction: The Intersection of Programs and Policies, Work Organization, and Safety Climate” on March 25th, and Kathryn Taylor successfully defended hers, entitled “The Effect of Head Injury on Neurologic and Cognitive Health Throughout the Life Course” on April 3rd. Well done!

David Christiani delivered the prestigious Irving Kass Lecture at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. His presentation was entitled “Genetic Markers of Risk & Survival in ARDS.”  Congratulations on this honor, David!

Russ Hauser received a subcontract from Harvard Pilgrim Health Care for an NIEHS R01 entitled “Longitudinal Association of PFCs with Obesity, Diabetes, and Metabolic Syndrome.” The PIs of this grant are Drs. Emily Oken and Edward Horton. Russ also was co-author along with visiting scientist Myriam Afeiche on a paper appearing in the March 30 edition of the journal Human Reproduction entitled “Fruit and vegetable intake and their pesticide residues in relation to semen quality among men from a fertility clinic.” The paper can be found here, and it is featured on the School website here.

Lastly, we congratulate Jeff Brand from our MIPS program and wish him best of luck as he leaves us for a postdoctoral position at the University of Alabama, Birmingham.

I’d like to wish those who celebrate Good Friday and Easter and/or Passover a wonderful holiday.