Meet Our Staff!

Department of Epidemiology Staff Members:

Julie Alperen, DrPH
PHACS DOC Project Director
Office Location: 817E Kresge
Phone: 617-432-6762
Email: jalperen@sdacharvard.edu

Jori Barbino
Grants Manager
Office Location: Kresge 901
Email: barabino@hsph.harvard.edu
Phone: 617-432-5031

Katherine Becker
Graduate Studies Coordinator
Office Location: Kresge 902
Phone: 617-432-1328
Email: kbecker@hsph.harvard.edu

Alan D. Berkeley
Grants Manager
Office Location: Kresge 901
Phone: 617-432-1233
Email: aberkele@hsph.harvard.edu

Claire Berman
Director of Health Education and Communication, Pediatric HIV/AIDS Cohort Study (PHACS)
Office Location: Kresge 816E
Phone: 617-432-1853
Email: cberman@sdac.harvard.edu

Staff Bio:  In her position, Claire leads efforts to develop creative and innovative health education and health literacy tools for diverse audiences connected to PHACS, including perinatally HIV-infected or HIV-exposed but uninfected youth, caregivers and Community Advisory Board members, clinical site staff, and research scientists. She heads the Health Education and Communication Committee and mentors health communication interns. Key projects to date have included a story map for HIV-affected young adults, a new PHACS website, HIV Disclosure Comic Books for caregivers and children, a PHACS Media Strategy, a handbook for study CABs, and a series of multi-site focus groups with young adults and caregivers in PHACS about technology and study retention.

Jessica Bugg
Senior Administrative Coordinator
Office Location: Kresge 904 | Front Desk
Phone: 617-432-1050
Email: jbugg@hsph.harvard.edu 

Randall Chaput
Staff Assistant for Causal Inference Team
Office Location: Kresge 820
Phone: 617-432-1539
Email: rchaput@hsph.harvard.edu

Mustapha El-Taik
Accounts Payable
Office Location: 911A
Phone: 617-432-5032
Email: mettaik@hsph.harvard.edu

Bizu Gelaye
Program Director, MIRT
Office Location: Kresge 501
Phone: 617-432-1071
Email: bgelaye@hsph.harvard.edu

David Havelick
Program Manager for Cancer Epidemiology
Office Location: Kresge 920A
Phone: 617-432-1643
Email: dhavelic@hsph.harvard.edu

Sherida Kipp
CCDD Program Coordinator
Office Location: Kresge, Suite 506
Email: skipp@hsph.harvard.edu
Phone: 617-432-7955

Melanie Larsen
Outreach Manager for the CCDD
Office Location: Kresge 506A
Phone: 617-432-3063
Email: malarsen@hsph.harvard.edu

As Outreach Manager, Mel’s focus is supporting the CCDD’s work on development of students, new investigators, and emerging scientists in the field of infectious disease modeling. Our outreach work is accomplished through education, mentoring, and financial support. Our group is especially focused on supporting students & scientists from under-represented groups.  The Center is also interested in working with science writers and connecting with public health officials working at state & local levels to educate them about the CCDD’s work on mathematical modeling. Please reach out to Mel via email if you’re interested in learning more, and visit our Opportunities page for more information & applications to our programs. Mel also runs the Center’s social media presence – follow along at @CCDD_HSPH on Twitter.

Dan Leary
Senior Grant Manager
Office Location: 911A
Email:  dleary@hsph.harvard.edu
Phone:  671-432-1315

Coppelia Liebenthal
Executive Assistant to the Chair
Office Location: Kresge 905
Phone: 617-432-6477
Email: cliebent@hsph.harvard.edu

Emily Long
Program Coordinator [Dr. Donna Spiegelman and GNET]
Office Location: Kresge 828
Phone: 617-432-7973
Email: elong@hsph.harvard.edu

Emily is the Program Coordinator for Dr. Donna Spiegelman and the Global Nutrition/Epidemiologic Transition Network (GNET). As the coordinator for GNET, she is responsible for maintaining the website and coordinating communications and meetings with the numerous collaborators. She joined the Department of Epidemiology in April 2014 and previously she worked at the Conservation Law Foundation on issues related to clean air, climate change, and environmental justice. She received her BA in Cellular Neuroscience from Colgate University and she is an avid fan of all things outdoors.

Molly Lyons          
Contracts Specialist, PHACS
Office Location: Kresge 817D
Phone: 617-432-7218
Email: mlyons@sdac.harvard.edu

Sean Mayne         
Grants Manager
Office Location: Kresge 901
Phone: 617-432-4239
Email: smayne@hsph.harvard.edu

Jill McDonald
Staff Assistant to Dr. Kraft, Dr. Price, and Dr. Liang
Office Location: Building 2 Room 249
Phone: 617-432-6347
Email: jrmcdona@hsph.harvard.edu

Caitlin O’Conner
Interim Director of Administration
Office Location: Kresge 914 (Monday, Tuesday 9-5; Thursday 9-12)
Email: coconnor@hsph.harvard.edu

John Paulson
Associate Director of Graduate Studies
Office Location: Kresge 912
Phone: 617-432-1055
Email: jpaulson@hsph.harvard.edu

Alissa Scharf         
Project Director, CCDD
Office Location: Kresge 506B
Phone: 617-432-7914
Email: ascharf@hsph.harvard.edu

John Sites
Interim Director of Finance
Office Location: Kresge 904A
Phone: 617-432-4699
Email: jsites@hsph.harvard.edu

Mayee To
Senior Grants Manager
Office Location: 911A
Phone: 617-432-1341
Email: mto@hsph.harvard.edu

Rosa Veras           
Senior Grants Manager
Office Location: Kresge 901
Phone: 617-432-6215
Email: rveras@hsph.harvard.edu