Wendy S. Garrett, MD PhD
Hometown: Philadelphia, PA 


Dr. Garrett is a physician-scientist and her basic science laboratory is located at the Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health. Dr. Garrett is a physician at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Brigham and Women’s Hospital. She is a member of the gastrointestinal cancer center at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and is board certified in medical oncology and internal medicine.

Her laboratory opened in January 2010 and is focused on defining the dynamic interactions between the mucosal immune system and gut microbiota. The Garrett laboratory’s experimental questions are grounded in understanding how interactions between intestinal microbial communities and the immune system contribute to the development of inflammatory bowel disease and colorectal cancer.

Dr. Garrett has recently received the following awards for her research: a Damon Runyon Foundation Fellowship, a Burroughs Wellcome Career in Medical Sciences Award, a V Foundation Scholar, a Cancer Research Institute Investigator Award, and a Searle Scholars Award.

Research Associate:

Kathrin Fenn, Ph.D.
Hometown: Hannover, Germany


Post-doctoral Fellows:

Caitlin Brennan, Ph.D.
Damon Runyon Foundation Fellow
Hometown: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Sonia Ballal, M.D.
Hometown: Canberra, Australia

Eunyoung Chun, Ph.D.
Hometown: Seoul, South Korea


Michael Howitt, Ph.D.
NIH/NIDDK F32 Awardee
Hometown: Palo Alto, California

Visiting Scientists:

Georgina Hold, Ph.D.
Hometown: Newark on Trent, Nottinghamshire, UK


Patrick Veiga, Ph.D.
Hometown: Paris, France

Graduate Students:

Michelle Rooks, B.S. M.S.
BPH Program
Hometown: New York, New York

Leslie Wardwell-Scott, B.S.
BBS Program
NSF Graduate Fellowship Awardee
Hometown: Dover, Massachusetts

Sydney Lavoie, B.S.
Immunology Program
Hometown: Huntington, Vermont

Research Staff:

Carey Ann Gallini, B.S.
Hometown: Lexington, Massachusetts

Monia Michaud, B.S., M.S.
Hometown: Quebec, Canada

Nora Ou, B.S.
Hometown: New York, New York

Rotation Students 2011-2012:
Eric Bent: MSTP and BBS Programs
Rachel Becker: Immunology Program
Leah Hogdal: BBS Program
Lindsay Kua: Program in Immunology

Undergraduate Students:
Emily Paterson: Summer 2012
Kayla Putnam: Summer 2010, 2011 CCFA Student Fellowship Winner

Past Members 2012-14:
Aleksander Kostic, B.S. BBS Program Meyerson Lab
Patrick Smith, Ph.D.
Jason Kim, M.A. Candidate, Harvard University