2001-2002 Academic Calendar

Fall 2001 | Spring 2002 | Degree Calendar
Note on Religious Holidays

The academic year is divided into three semesters. The fall semester begins in mid-September, and the spring semester begins at the end of January. Each semester is divided into two eight week periods: “a” and “b” in the fall semester and “c” and “d” in the spring semester. The “e” period takes place between the semesters in January and is considered part of fall semester. It is a week dedicated to field work and special projects. The “f” period is similar to “e” period and takes place during spring recess(considered part of spring semester). The first three-week summer session (“s” period) begins the first week of July. The second summer session (“t” period) begins the last week of July.

FALL 2001
Monday, September 3 Labor Day – a holiday
Wednesday, September 5-
Friday, September 14
Strategies for Success
Monday, September 10 Registration, new students (8:30am-2:30pm)
Friday, September 14 Registration, returning students (8:30am-2:30pm)OASIS opens for course registration at 12:00 noon. You must update your biographical information as soon as possible.
Monday, September 10 -
Friday, September 14
Orientation Programs
Monday, September 17 “a” and “ab” period courses begin
Wednesday, September 19 Deadline for students to update address information on OASIS
Friday, September 28 Add/Drop/Change Deadline “a & ab” period courses
Cross Registration Deadline “a & ab” period courses
TAP/Affiliate registration deadline “a & ab” period courses
Final Signed Registration Printouts Due (5:00pm)
Monday, October 8 Columbus Day – a holiday
Friday, November 9 “a” period courses end
Monday, November 12 Veteran’s Day observed – a holiday
Tuesday, November 13 “b” period courses begin
Friday, November 16 GRADES DUE: “a” period courses
Tuesday, November 20 November Degree Voting Date
Thursday, November 22 -
Sunday, November 25
Thanksgiving Recess
Tuesday, November 27 Add/Drop/Change Deadline “b” period courses
Cross Registration Deadline “b” period courses
TAP/Affiliate registration deadline “b” period courses
Registration Printouts with ‘b’ period changes due (5:00 pm)
Thursday, December 20-
Tuesday, January 1
Student Winter Recess, Inclusive
Wednesday, January 2 “ab” and “b” period courses resume
Monday, January 7 Registration for Spring 2002 begins
Friday, January 18 “ab” and “b” period courses end
Monday, January 21 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. – a holiday
Tuesday, January 22 -
Friday, January 25
“e” period, inclusive
Tuesday, January 22 Add/Drop/Change Deadline “e” period courses
Cross Registration Deadline “e” period courses
TAP/Affiliate/Alumni registration deadline “e” period courses
Friday, January 25 GRADES DUE: “ab” and “b” period courses

 

SPRING 2002
Monday, January 28 “c” and “cd” period courses begin
Friday, February 1 GRADES DUE: “e” period courses.
Friday, February 8 Add/Drop/Change Deadline “c” and “cd” period courses
Cross Registration Deadline “c” and “cd” period courses
TAP/Affiliate/Alumni registration deadline “c” and “cd” period courses
Final signed Registration printouts due (5:00pm)
Monday, February 18 President’s Day – a holiday
Tuesday, March 19 March Degree Voting Date
Friday, March 22 “c” period courses end
Saturday, March 23 -
Sunday, March 31
Spring Recess
Monday, March 25 -
Friday, March 29
“f” period, inclusive
Monday, March 25 Add/Drop/Change Deadline “f” period courses
Cross Registration Deadline “f” period courses
TAP/Affiliate/Alumni registration “f” period courses
Friday, March 29 GRADES DUE: “c” period courses
Monday, April 1 “d” period courses begin
Friday, April 5 GRADES DUE: “f” period courses
Friday, April 12 Add/Drop/Change Deadline “d” period courses
Cross Registration Deadline “d” period courses
TAP/Affiliate/Alumni registration deadline “d” period courses
Registration Printouts with ‘d’ period changes due (5:00pm)
Friday, May 24 “cd” and “d” period courses end
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day – a holiday
Wednesday, May 29 GRADES DUE: “cd” and “d” period courses
Monday, June 3 June Degree Voting Date
Thursday, June 6 Commencement

 

2001-2002 Degree Calendar

For a diploma to be awarded on:
Degree applications are due to the Registrar’s Office on: Dissertations are due to the Registrar’s Office on:
November 20, 2001
September 21, 2001
October 12, 2001
March 19, 2002
January 3, 2002
February 1, 2002
June 6, 2002
March 1, 2002
May 17, 2002

Religious Holidays
As a matter of policy, law, and commitment, the Harvard School of Public Health does not discriminate against any person on the basis of religion. Any student who is unable, because of his or her religious beliefs, to attend classes or to participate in any examination, study or work requirement on a particular day shall be excused from any such examination or requirement, provided that such makeup examination or work shall not create an unreasonable burden upon the School.