2005-2006 Academic Calendar

Summer 2005 | Fall 2005 | Spring 2006 | Degree Calendar |Academic Year Summary
Note on Religious Holidays

Summer 2005
Monday, July 4 Independence Day – a holiday
Tuesday, July 5 Summer Registration
Tuesday, July 5 – Friday, July 29 Summer1 Term inclusive
Monday, August 1-
Friday, August 19
Summer2 Term inclusive
Friday, August 5 GRADES DUE: Summer1 courses
Friday, August 26 GRADES DUE: Summer2 courses and all summer courses research credits
Fall 2005
Tuesday, August 30 Check-in, new students (8:30am – 2:30pm)
Tuesday, August 30 – Friday, September 2 Orientation Programs
Monday, September 5 Labor Day – a holiday
Tuesday, September 6 Fall Semester and Fall1 term courses begin
Check-in, returning students
Friday, September 9 Deadline: for students to update address information on OASIS
Friday, September 9 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Fall Semester & Fall1 Term courses for Cross-Registration and TAP/Affiliate students
Friday, September 16 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Fall Semester & Fall1 Term courses for HSPH degree students
Final Signed Registration Printouts Due (5:00pm)
Friday, September 30 Withdrawal Deadline: Fall1 Term Courses*
Monday, October 10 Columbus Day – a holiday
Friday, October 28 Fall1 Term courses end
Monday, October 31 Fall2 Term courses begin
Friday, November 4 GRADES DUE: Fall1 Term courses
Friday, November 4 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Fall2 Term courses for Cross-Registration and TAP/Affiliate students
Tuesday, November 8 November Degree Voting Date
Thursday, November 10 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Fall2 Term courses for HSPH degree students
Final Signed Registration Printouts Due (5:00pm)
Friday, November 11 Veterans’ Day – a holiday
Friday, November 18 Withdrawal Deadline:Fall Semester courses*
Wednesday, November 23 Withdrawal Deadline: Fall2 Term courses*
Thursday, November 24 – Friday, November 25 Thanksgiving Recess
Thursday, December 8 Registration for Spring 2006 begins. This includes registration for WinterSession courses which are part of the spring semester.
Friday, December 23 Fall Semester and Fall2 Term courses end
Monday, December 26 – Friday, December 31 Winter Recess
Spring 2006
Monday, January 2 New Year’s Day Observed – a holiday
Tuesday, January 3 WinterSession courses begin
Add Deadline: WinterSession courses for HSPH, Cross-Registration and TAP/Affiliate students
Friday, January 6 GRADES DUE: Fall Semester and Fall2 Term courses
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – a holiday
Wednesday, January 25 WinterSession courses end
Monday, January 30 Spring Semester and Spring1 Term courses begin
Friday, February 3 GRADES DUE: WinterSession courses
Friday, February 3 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Spring Semester & Spring1 Term coursesfor Cross-Registration and TAP/Affiliate students
Friday, February 10 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Spring Semester & Spring1 Term coursesfor HSPH degree students
Final Signed Registration Printouts Due (5:00pm)
Monday, February 20 Presidents’ Day – a holiday
Friday, February 24 Withdrawal Deadline: Spring1 term courses*
Tuesday, March 7 March Degree Voting Date
Friday, March 17 Spring1 Term courses end
Monday, March 20 – Friday, March 24 Spring Recess
Monday, March 27 Spring2 Term courses begin
Friday, March 31 GRADES DUE: Spring1 Term courses
Friday, March 31 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Spring2 Term courses for Cross-Registration and TAP/Affiliate students
Friday, April 7 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Spring2 Term courses for HSPH degree students
Final Signed Registration Printouts Due (5:00pm)
Friday, April 21 Withdrawal Deadline: Spring Semester and Spring2 Term courses*
Friday, May 19 Spring Semester and Spring2 Term courses end
Wednesday, May 24 GRADES DUE: Spring Semester and Spring2 Term courses
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day – a holiday
Monday, June 5 June Degree Voting Date
Thursday, June 8 Commencement

*The notation WD will be permanently noted in the student’s academic record.

2005-2006 Degree Calendar
For a diploma to be awarded in: Degree applications are due to the Registrar’s Office on: Dissertations are due to the Registrar’s Office on:
November 2005
September 16, 2005
October 7, 2005
March 2006
January 7, 2006
January 27, 2006
June 2006
February 24, 2006
May 5, 2006

 

Academic Year Summary 2005-2006
Summer
Fall
Spring
July 5 – August 19
September 6- December 23
January 2 – May 19
Summer1 Term Summer2 Term Fall1 Term Fall2 Term WinterSession Spring1Term Spring2 Term
July 5 –
July 29
August 1 –
August 19
Sept. 6-Oct. 28 Oct. 31-
Dec. 23
January 2 –
January 25
January 30 –
March 17
March 27 –
May 19

 

Religious Holidays
According to Chapter 151c, Section 2B, of the General Laws of Massachusetts, any student in an educational or vocational training institution, other than a religious or denominational training institution, who is unable, because of his or her religious beliefs, to attend classes or to participate in any examination, study, or work requirement on a particular day shall be excused from any such examination or requirement which he or she may have missed because of such absence on any particular day, provided that such makeup examination or work shall not create an unreasonable burden upon the school. No fees of any kind shall be charged by the institution for making such opportunity available to the student, and no adverse or prejudicial effect shall result to any student for availing himself or herself of these provisions.