2008-2009 Academic Calendar

Summer 2008 | Fall 2008 | Spring 2009 | Degree Calendar | Academic Year Summary
Note on Religious Holidays

SUMMER 2008
Tuesday, July 1 Summer Registration/Orientation – No Classes
Wednesday, July 2 First Day of Classes
Friday, July 4 Independence Day – a holiday
Friday, July 25 Summer1 Term ends
Monday, July 28 –
Friday, August 15
Summer2 Term inclusive
Friday, August 1 GRADES DUE: Summer1 courses
Tuesday, August 5 **Fall Pre-Registration Begins
Friday, August 22 GRADES DUE: Summer2 courses and all summer courses research credits
FALL 2008
Sunday, August 17 – Monday, August 25 Professional Communication Seminar
Monday, August 18 Deadline to submit Intent to Register form: for TAP/Affiliates and Non- Harvard Cross-Registrants for Fall Semester and Fall1 Term courses
Monday, August 25 Check-in, new students (1:00 PM to 5:00 PM)
Monday, August 25 –
Friday, August 29
Orientation Programs
Monday,
September 1
Labor Day – a holiday
Tuesday,
September 2
Fall Semester and Fall1 Term courses begin
Friday, September 5 Deadline: for students to update address information on OASIS
Friday, September 5 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: for TAP/Affiliates and Cross-Registration into HSPH for Fall Semester and Fall1 Term courses.
Friday,
September 12
Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Fall Semester and Fall1 Term courses for HSPH degree candidates including all Cross-Registration out of HSPH.
Final Signed Registration Printouts Due (5:00pm)
Friday,
September 26
Withdrawal Deadline: Fall1 Term Courses*
Monday, October 13 Columbus Day – a holiday
Tuesday, October 14 Deadline to Submit Intent to Register Form: for TAP/Affiliates and Non-Harvard Cross-Registrants for Fall2 Term courses
Friday, October 24 Fall1 Term courses end
Monday, October 27 Fall2 Term courses begin
Friday, October 31 GRADES DUE: Fall1 Term courses
Friday, October 31 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: for TAP/Affiliates and Cross-Registration into HSPH for Fall2 Term courses.
Tuesday, November 4 November Degree Voting Date
Friday, November 7 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Fall2 Term courses for HSPH degree candidates including all Cross-Registration out of HSPH.
Final Signed Registration Printouts Due (5:00pm)
Tuesday,
November 11
Veterans’ Day – a holiday
Wednesday, November 19 Withdrawal Deadline: Fall Semester and Fall2 Term courses*
Thursday, November 27 – Friday, November 28 Thanksgiving Recess
Thursday, December 4 **Registration for Spring 2009 begins
Thursday,
December 18
Deadline to Submit Intent to Register Form: for TAP/Affiliates and Non-Harvard Cross-Registrants for WinterSession Term courses
Friday, December 19 Fall Semester and Fall2 Term courses end
Classes end at noon
Monday,
December 22 –
Friday, January 2
Winter Recess
Spring 2009
Thursday, January 1 New Year’s Day – a holiday
Friday, January 2 GRADES DUE: Fall Semester and Fall2 Term courses
Monday, January 5 WinterSession courses begin
Monday, January 5 Add Deadline: WinterSession: for HSPH, Cross-Registration and TAP/Affiliates

Initial Signed Registration Printouts Due (5:00pm)

If Drop/Grading Changes are made:  The Deadline for final printouts is the second day of the course.

Monday, January 19 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – a holiday
Tuesday, January 20 Deadline to submit Intent to Register form: for TAP/Affiliates and Non-Harvard Cross-Registrants for Spring Semester and Spring1 Term courses.
Wednesday,
January 28
WinterSession courses end
Monday, February 2 Spring Semester and Spring1 Term courses begin
Friday, February 6 GRADES DUE: WinterSession courses
Friday, February 6 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: for TAP/Affiliates and  Cross-Registration into HSPH courses for Spring Semester and Spring1 Term courses
Friday, February 13 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Spring Semester and Spring1 Term courses for HSPH degree candidates including all Cross-Registration out of HSPH.
Final Signed Registration Printouts Due (5:00pm)
Monday, February 16 Presidents’ Day – a holiday
Friday, February 20 Withdrawal Deadline: Spring1 Term courses*
Tuesday, March 10 March Degree Voting Date
Monday, March 16 Deadline to submit Intent to Register form: for TAP/Affiliates and Non-Harvard Cross-Registrants for Spring2 Term courses.
Friday, March 20 Spring1 Term courses end
Monday, March 23 –
Friday, March 27
Spring Recess
Friday, March 27 GRADES DUE: Spring1 Term Courses
Monday, March 30 Spring2 Term courses begin
Friday, April 3 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: for TAP/Affiliates and  Cross-Registration into HSPH courses for Spring2 Term courses
Friday, April 10 Add/Drop/Change Deadline: Spring2 Term coursesfor HSPH degree candidates including all Cross-Registration out of HSPH.
Final Signed Registration Printouts Due (5:00pm)
Friday, April 24 Withdrawal Deadline: Spring Semester and Spring2 Term courses*
Friday, May 22 Spring Semester and Spring2 Term courses end
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day – a holiday
Wednesday, May 27 GRADES DUE: Spring Semester and Spring2 Term courses
Thursday, June 4 Commencement

*The notation WD will be permanently noted in the student’s academic record
**Date are subject to change

 

2008-2009 Degree Calendar
For a diploma to be awarded on: Degree applications are due to the Registrar’s Office on: Dissertations are due to the Registrar’s Office on:
November 4, 2008 September 12, 2008 October 3, 2008
March 10, 2009 January 5, 2009 January 23, 2009
June 4, 2009 February 20, 2009 May 1, 2009

 

 

Academic Year Summary 2008-2009
Summer   Fall   Spring
July 1 – August 15 September 2 –
December 19
 January 5 – May 22
Summer1
Term
Summer2
Term
Fall1
Term
Fall2
Term
WinterSession Spring1
Term
Spring2
Term
July 1-
July 25
July 28 –
August 15
Sept. 2 –
Oct. 24
Oct. 27 –
Dec. 19
January 5 –
January 28
Feb. 2 –
March 20
March 30 –
May 22

 

Religious Holidays
According to Chapter 151c, Section 2B, of the General Laws of Massachusetts, any student in an educational or vocational training institution, other than a religious or denominational training institution, who is unable, because of his or her religious beliefs, to attend classes or to participate in any examination, study, or work requirement on a particular day shall be excused from any such examination or requirement which he or she may have missed because of such absence on any particular day, provided that such makeup examination or work shall not create an unreasonable burden upon the school. No fees of any kind shall be charged by the institution for making such opportunity available to the student, and no adverse or prejudicial effect shall result to any student for availing himself or herself of these provisions.