Orientation 2020

Ph.D. Program in Biological Sciences in Public Health
July-December 2020 Schedule
Subject to change and will be updated on a rolling basis.


Tuesday, July 7

3:30pm – 4:00pm – G1 Zoom meeting with Program Director Brendan Manning

4:00pm – 5:00pm – G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Brendan Manning

 

Thursday, July 9

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Manoj Duraisingh

 

Tuesday, July 14

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Adam Haber

 

Thursday, July 16

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Phyllis Kanki

 

Monday, July 20

Foundations in Public Health course (ID 100) – first four modules will be released and available online

*Details to be announced

 

Tuesday, July 21

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Curtis Huttenhower

 

Wednesday, July 22

5:00pm – 6:30pm  – G1s/G2s July Zoom Meetup

 

Thursday, July 23

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: William Mair

 

Monday, July 27

GSAS “Check-In” is Open (Required) – During online check-in, you will be asked to acknowledge critical university documents and update your personal information in my.harvard. You cannot register for courses until you complete check-in.

 

Tuesday, July 28

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Sarah Fortune

 

Thursday, July 30

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Tobias Walther

 

Monday, August 3  – Monday, August 10

Screening of “Picture a Scientist” available all week with discussion via Zoom on August 10 (optional)

 

Tuesday, August 4

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Barbara Burleigh

 

Thursday, August 6

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Douglas Brownfield

 

Monday, August 10

6:00pm – 7:00pm – “Picture a Scientist” Film Discussion via Zoom (optional)

 

Monday, August 10 – Friday, August 21

MATLAB / Quantitative Methods Boot Camp (QMBC) (Highly Recommended)

Neurobiology 306qc

Course Sign-up: https://hms.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_6W18Qau6zVDm3Hf

Course website: http://springerlab.org/qmbc/

Course director: Michael Springer at michael_springer@hms.harvard.edu

Contact for Course questions: Jennie Epp at jennie_epp@hms.harvard.edu

 

Class Schedule:

Monday, 8/10: 12pm-2pm and 3pm-5pm

Tuesday, 8/11: 1pm – 5pm  (optional review)

Wednesday, 8/12: 12pm-2pm and 3pm-5pm

Thursday, 8/13: 1pm – 5pm  (optional review)

Friday, 8/14: 12pm-2pm and 3pm-5pm

 

Monday, 8/17: 12pm-2pm and 3pm-5pm

Tuesday, 8/18: 1pm – 5pm (optional review)

Wednesday, 8/19: 12pm-2pm and 3pm-5pm

Thursday, 8/20: 1pm – 5pm (optional review)

Friday, 8/21: 12pm-2pm and 3pm-5pm

*All times = EST via Zoom

 

Tuesday, August 11

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Tony Hui

 

Thursday, August 13

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Nora Kory

 

Monday, August 17

GSAS “Check-In” Deadline (Required)

Go to my.harvard.edu portal page –> Campus Resources tab

*Students who fail to check-in will be charged a late check-in fee of $50 plus an additional $5 for each week thereafter.Enrollment for GSAS program courses (including DMS) begins

 

Tuesday, August 18

11:00 am – 1:00 pm – Orientation Concentration Fair – introduction to GPiB/IDC and some of the other common BPH interdisciplinary concentrations and programs like Leder and Therapeutics (optional)

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Zhi-Min Yuan

 

Thursday, August 20

4:00pm – 5:00pm –  G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Smita Gopinath

 

Monday, August 24

9:30am-10:00am – HSPH Orientation: Welcome Session (optional)

10:15am – 11:15am – Foundations in Public Health (ID 100) synchronous session via Zoom (Required)

 

Tuesday, August 25

9:00am – 10:30am – HSPH Orientation: Calling to Public Health Workshop (optional)

11:00am – 1:30pm – HSPH Orientation: Academic Program Sessions, Field of Study Sessions (optional)

4:00pm – 5:00pm – G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Bernardo Lemos

 

Wednesday, August 26

9:00am – 12:00pm –  HSPH Orientation: Self, Social, and Global Awareness Workshop (optional)

1:00pm – 2:00pm – HSPH Orientation: Harvard Chan Student Organizations: Get Involved and Get Engaged (optional)

 

Thursday, August 27

9:00am – 2:00pm – HSPH Orientation: Introduction to Co-Curricular Resources (optional)

  • Career and Professional Development
  • Countway Library
  • Navigating Student Loans
  • Office for Diversity and Inclusion
  • Students Support

(individual times TBD)

11:00am – 12:00pm – Infections Disease Consortium (IDC) panel discussion featuring current students who do infectious disease-related research in several departments/core PhD programs at Harvard (optional)

2:30 p.m – 3:00pm – Meeting with Mark Wright from HGSU-UAW (optional)

4:00pm – 5:00pm – G1 Faculty Zoom Talks: Zachary Nagel

 

Friday, August 28

Orientation for New GSAS Students 2020 – (Required)

8:00 am to 9:30 am – International Community Conversations program connecting  continuing GSAS students with new international GSAS student (optional)

10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m. – Virtual Student Involvement Fair – learn about groups organized by identities, cultures, interests, and affinities across disciplines and G-years

More information and a request to RSVP will be shared in August.

 

Monday, August 31

First Day of GSAS and HSPH Classes

 

Tuesday, September 1

1:00pm – 2:00pm – G1’s Meeting with Program Director, Brendan Manning

2:00pm – 3:00pm – BPH Check-In Meeting (for all students)

 

Friday, September 4

2:00pm – 5:00pm – Rising G2 Zoom Talks (Required)

6:00pm – GSAS Student Center Virtual Open House Party 2020 (optional) –  a virtual event led by the GSAS Student Center fellows for incoming students to learn about GSAS Student Center

 

Monday, September 7

University Holiday: Labor Day

 

Saturday, September 12

1:00pm – 4:00pm –  GSAS Cookout 2020 – tentative

 

Monday, September 14

Fall Lab Rotation Start Date

(Lab Rotation Registration Form is due by September 4)

 

Wednesday, October 7

4:30pm – 5:30 pm – Managing Sticky Situations: Understanding Student Services for GSAS Students

with Danielle Farrell, GSAS Director of Student Services & Title IX Coordinator

Sign up for this event in advance

 

Monday, October 12

University Holiday: Indigenous Peoples’ Day

 

Wednesday, October 14

5:30pm – 7:00pm – HILS Welcome Event

 

Wednesday, November 11

Veteran’s Day – classes are held

 

Wednesday, November 25 – Sunday, November 29

Thanksgiving Recess

 

Friday, December 4

Fall Lab Rotation End Date

(Winter Lab Rotation forms due by Dec. 18)