Lefkopoulou Award: Nominations Open

myrtoEach year the Myrto Lefkopoulou Lectureship is awarded to a promising biostatistical scientist who has made contributions to either collaborative or methodologic research in the applications of statistical methods to biology or medicine and/or excellence in the teaching of biostatistics.   Ordinarily, the lectureship is given to an individual within 15 years of receiving an earned doctorate. In the case of nominees without an earned doctorate, the Committee will make a relative adjustment of time in keeping with the spirit of the selection process. The lectureship includes travel to Boston, a reception following the lecture, and an honorarium of $1000.   The award was initiated in 1993 in memory of Myrto Lefkopoulou, a former beloved faculty member and student who tragically died of cancer in 1992 at the age of 34 after a courageous two-year battle.   Nominations for this year’s lectureship are currently being solicited. Please include a letter of recommendation and C.V. for the nominee. The deadline for submission of nominations is May 13, 2016 and should be directed to: Meagan Plante at mplante@hsph.harvard.edu