Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Fellowship Program

What is the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Fellowship Program?:

The EDI Fellowship is an employment opportunity for currently enrolled students at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. EDI Fellows support the equity, diversity, inclusion and belonging (EDIB) efforts being led by the Office of Diversity & Inclusion (ODI). As a cohort, EDI Fellows receive training, support, and mentorship from staff to support with strategic planning activities as well as co-develop, pilot, and facilitate workshops, events, and/or programs. EDI Fellows have the option to support a variety of activities that are essential to the work of the Office of Diversity & Inclusion (ODI) and partnering offices. Each Fellow is matched to a functional pathway based on their interest and experience. Each pathway, listed below, is connected to programs and initiatives within ODI and are led by an ODI staff member.

  • Community Engagement: Fellows will strengthen partnerships between Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and the broader community using critical principles in community engagement.
  • Heritage Observances & Signature Programming: Fellows will support the observance of monthly and yearly heritage celebrations and acknowledgements through passive and active programming that centers the cultural recognition of historically marginalized groups
  • Institutional Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging Projects: Fellows will support institution-wide strategic projects to foster an environment of equity, diversity, inclusion, and belonging throughout the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.
  • Pathway Programs for Postdoctoral Fellows and Students: Fellows support the intersection of higher education and diversity pathway and pipeline development activities.
  • Recruitment & Retention: Fellows will support key initiatives focused on underrepresented student recruitment and retention.

EDI Fellows can work up to 10 hours per week and are compensated at $20/hour. Each Fellow will also have access to a $500 professional development stipend to subsidize the costs of EDIB trainings and conferences (please note that Harvard Chan School students also have access to professional development funds through the Office of Student Affairs).

The Office of Diversity & Inclusion is not currently accepting applications for the EDI Fellowship. If you are interested in learning about alternative ways to engage with our departmental initiatives, please contact Jennifer Castro at jcastro@hsph.harvard.edu.

Former EDI Fellows:

2022-2023: Christian Badillo, Joel Burt-Miller, Lilia Calleros Lopez, Kimberly Crow, Valeria Duran, Nonye Ikeanyi, Demetrice Jordan, Jesse Osmar Najarro Cermeño, Heather Olden, Anusha Venkatesh, Keona Wynne, MyMai Yuan

2021-2022: Aharisi Bonner, Elodia Caballero, Kimberly Crow, Valeria Duran, Tawana Feimster, Evelin Garcia, Ayah Hamdan, Veronica Handunge, Omar Khan, Jesse Osmar Najarro Ceremño, Miski Osman, Kim Buster Turner, Keona Wynne, Seblewongel Yigletu, MyMai Yuan

2020-2021: Jasmine Akuffo, Aharisi Bonner, Candice Carpenter, Jonathan Curz, Allie Dyer, Sana Farooqui, Veronica Handunge, Jennifer Lee, Sawhel Maali, Valentina Vargas, Keona Wynne, Seblewongel Yigletu

2019-2020: Jasmine Akuffo, Carl Ceraolo, Ayah Hamdan, Hae In Kim, Deja Knight, Jennifer Lee, Tariana V. Little, Sawhel Maali, Jessie Mai, Isha Nirola, Kelechi Okereke, Lily Shay, Valentina Vargas, Keona Wynne

2018-2019: Kelley Butler, Nayely Chavez, Dennis Dacarett-Galeano, José Gonzalez, Jasmine Hall, Jonathan Hill-Rorie, Tariana V. Little, Sherine Andreine Powerful, Erica L. Reaves, Saadia Sediqzadah, Thamara Subramanian, Tajah Tubbs, Keona Wynne

2017-2018: Marilyn Cabrera, Nayely Chavez, Yvette Efevbera, José Gonzalez, Jasmine Hall, Jonathan Hill-Rorie, Jessica Huang, New Latthivongskorn, Tariana V. Little, Chrissy Kreider, Erica L. Reaves, Thamara Subramanian, Alvin Tran, Corrina Wainwright

2016-2017: Naomi Adjei, Marilyn Cabrera, Caitlin Chan, Yvette Efevbera, Gabriel Lopez, Michelle Lough, Paul Reeping , Sebastian Suarez, Alvin Tran, Kelechi Weze