Faculty Council

Faculty Council Charge

To expedite business and further the implementation of faculty resolutions; to provide a representative faculty group to which persons or groups can address communications to the faculty; to prepare the agenda for faculty meetings and to devise procedures for faculty action, including calling of special meetings; to speak for the faculty between regular and special faculty meetings; to call attention of the faculty to important issues and to prepare position papers and resolutions for faculty consideration and decision; to coordinate business among faculty committees; to devise and implement mechanisms for improving and maintaining communication between the Faculty Council and the faculty; and to be accountable to and report at regular intervals to the faculty. The Faculty Council selects the recipients of the Professor Emeritus Award of Merit. Membership on the council automatically confers membership on the university’s Screening Committee, a disciplinary body.

2022-2023 Meeting Dates

All meetings will be held from 12:30 to 1:25 pm followed by an executive session with Council members from 1:25-1:50 pm via Zoom.

    • Tuesday, September 6
    • Tuesday, October 4
    • Tuesday, November 1
    • Tuesday, November 29
    • Tuesday, January 10
    • Tuesday February 7
    • Tuesday, March 7
    • Tuesday, April 11
    • Tuesday, May 2


The Faculty Council was established in 1969. Elected by the faculty as a whole, the council consists of nine members, each of whom serves three years. Each rank is represented by three primary faculty members; no department may be represented by more than one person. The chair and vice-chair are elected by the council.

Goodarz Danaei, GHP (2023)
Wendy Garrett, IID (2025)
William Hanage, EPI (2025)
James Hammitt, HPM (2023)
Sheng (Tony) Hui, MET (2024)
Francine Laden, EH (2024) co-chair
Josiemer Mattei, NUT (2024) co-chair
Natalie Slopen, SBS (2025)
Briana Joy Stephenson, BIO (2023)

Ex-officio members
Erin Driver-Linn, Dean for Education
Jennifer Ivers, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Jane Kim, Dean for Academic Affairs
Nancy Turnbull, Senior Associate Dean for Professional Education

Tammy Brown, tabrown@hsph.harvard.edu

Contact: Office of Faculty Affairs (617-432-1047)