Appointments, Reappointments, and Promotions, Standing Committee on (SCARP)

10:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m., in Kresge 110

Thursday, September 19, 2013
Thursday, October 17, 2013
Thursday, November 7, 2013
Thursday, December 12, 2013
Thursday, January 16, 2014
Thursday, February 6, 2014
Thursday, March 13, 2014
Thursday, April 17, 2014
Thursday, May 8, 2014
June TBD
Thursday, July 17, 2014

Charge: The Standing Committee on Appointments, Reappointments, and Promotions (SCARP) reviews recommendations for faculty appointments, reappointments, and promotions; advises the dean on the resolution of these recommendations; ensures that school policies and procedures leading to these recommendations have been followed and that any exceptions have been documented; and proposes new policies and procedures and revises existing ones as needed, subject to the approval of the full faculty. After reviewing recommendations for reappointment and promotion, SCARP provides feedback to individual faculty members about aspects of their academic record that should be strengthened. Finally, SCARP may be asked to play a role in adjudicating grievances when an individual or department chair believes that appropriate procedures have not been followed in the context of a specific appointment or that an injustice has been done to an individual. SCARP was established in 1977; its charge was revised in 2007.
Members: Appointed by the dean from among the tenured faculty to serve three-year terms, the committee comprises nine members (plus the dean, dean for academic affairs, and senior associate dean for academic affairs, and associate dean for faculty affairs, ex officio). The chair and vice-chair are elected by the committee.

Lisa Berkman, chair (2014)
Rebecca Betensky (2015)
Joseph Brain (2015)
Norman Daniels (2014)
Max Essex (2015)
James Hammitt (2016)
Frank Hu (2015)
Donna Spiegelman (2016)
Zhi-Min Yuan (2016)

Mahnaz El-Kouedi, ex officio
Julio Frenk, ex officio
Michael Grusby, ex officio
David Hunter, ex officio

Contact: Tina Goldsmith, Office of Faculty Affairs (617-432-1189)