Affinity Graduation Celebrations

University-Wide Lavender Graduation

In collaboration with the Harvard Office for Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging and student affairs staff from across the University, a working group has gathered to explore planning and holding a virtual University-wide Lavender Graduation Ceremony to celebrate and recognize the LGBTQIA+ graduating students amongst the Harvard University Class 2021.

While this would be a pilot year, it is in the hopes of establishing and growing this recognition event for years to come. We are acutely aware of the short time frame we are working with and hope to involve graduating students as much as possible in the planning process, while not being a burden during finals period. As such, we invite your thoughts and feedback.

Please complete this short feedback survey at your earliest convenience, but no later than Friday, May 7th.

 

UNIVERSITY-WIDE FIRST-GEN/NEXT GEN (FGLI+) GRADUATION CEREMONY

Sunday, May 23rd, 3:00 pm EDT / 7:00pm GMT / 12:30AM IST

Register for this event here: http://bit.ly/HarvardFirstGen-NextGenGrad

The First Gen/Next Gen (FGLI+) Graduation Ceremony is a pre-commencement celebration open to all students and acknowledges graduates who identify as a member of the Next Gen community. Not sure if you’re Next Gen? See how we’re defining the term here. This inaugural event is part of a pilot initiative to celebrate and recognize the accomplishments of graduating Next Gen students as well as their contributions to communities at and beyond Harvard.

Graduating Next Gen (FGLI+) students are invited to contribute content for the ceremony in three different formats: Check out all the options and details for submitting your photos, slides, and videos here. All content is due by Monday, May 10th!

This event is co-sponsored by the Harvard Next Gen Initiative, Harvard Graduate School of Education, Graduate School of Design, Harvard First-Gen Alumni, Harvard Primus, Harvard Graduate Commons Program, & the Harvard Office for Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging

 

The 2021 Harvard University Black Graduation Ceremony
Tuesday, May 25, 12:00 pm EDT / 4:00pm GMT / 9:30pm IST
Virtual Ceremony link forthcoming

The Black Graduation is a pre-commencement celebration open to all students and acknowledges graduates, who through unyielding determination, have successfully completed their degree. The event recognizes their accomplishments and provides an opportunity for graduates to honor those who have helped them achieve their milestone. This celebration honors African and African American heritage and culture. Graduating students, who identify within the Black and African Diaspora, please fill out this poll.

Sponsored by the HGSE Office of Student Affairs & Harvard’s Office for Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging

 

The 2021 Harvard University Latinx Graduation Ceremony

Tuesday, May 25, 3:30 pm EDT / 7:30pm GMT / 1:00am IST
Virtual Ceremony link forthcoming

The Latinx Graduation is a pre-commencement celebration open to all students and acknowledges graduates, who through unyielding determination, have successfully completed their degree. The event recognizes their accomplishments and provides an opportunity for graduates to honor those who have helped them achieve their milestone. This celebration honors Latin American and Latinx heritage and culture. Graduating Latinx students, please fill out this poll.

Sponsored by the HGSE Office of Student Affairs & Harvard’s Office for Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging