Diversity & Inclusion

Black Lives Matter - MET Stands Together

MET Stands together with the Black Lives Matter movement

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Statement

The Department of Molecular Metabolism is committed to fostering a diverse and inclusive environment. As public health researchers, we embrace and value all of humanity regardless of race, culture, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, disability, or religious background. This is a reflection of the work we are engaged in to find the root causes of major non-communicable diseases that adversely affect public health, including neurodegenerative disorders, cancer, and chronic diseases of metabolism. At the heart of our values and research is helping all people live better and healthier lives.

Diversity & Inclusion initiatives are woven into our core beliefs and values. We will work to increase opportunities for individuals of all races and cultures to participate fully in our community. Through our Diversity and Inclusion Committee, recruitment, events, training, and programming we promote interracial and intercultural awareness and understanding.


Faculty Diversity and Inclusion Statements

We are MET and stand together to actualize change within our department and research community


MET’s Diversity and Inclusion Committee is focused on five key action areas, in line with the ODI strategic priorities.

Creating Space/ Presence & Reporting

Hannah Smith – Co-Chair of Committee
Graduate Student
hjsmith@g.harvard.edu

Luis Hernandez – Co-Chair of Committee
Faculty Coordinator
lhernandez@hsph.harvard.edu

Recruitment

Karen Inouye
Research Scientist
kinouye@hsph.harvard.edu

William Mair
Associate Professor
wmair@hsph.harvard.edu

Outreach

Tony Hui
Assistant Professor
hui@hsph.harvard.edu

Christina Brandao Konami Jayson
Graduate Student
cjayson@g.harvard.edu

Culture

Yohannes Abere Ambaw
Postdoctoral Fellow
yambaw@hsph.harvard.edu

Training

Laura Bond
Postdoctoral Fellow
lbond@hsph.harvard.edu

Aaron Hosios
Postdoctoral Fellow
ahosios@hsph.harvard.edu

If you would like to anonymously share feedback to our committee please use THIS LINK.

Our committee recently gathered information, through a survey, from the Department of Molecular Metabolism, to review our own climate as it relates to diversity and inclusion. If you are a member of our department and would like to review the results of our survey, please contact tkelleher@hsph.harvard.edu


Employee Resource Groups


Reporting and Support

Members of our department can confidentially report with Katrina Soriano, Executive Director of Administration (kwright@hsph.harvard.edu), and our Chair Robert V. Farese Jr. (robert@hsph.harvard.edu). Additionally, you can speak confidentially with a contact in the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, by contacting odi@hsph.harvard.edu.