Winner of 2022 Armen H. Tashjian Award for Excellence in Endocrine Research

On May 19th, 2022 Dr. Alexander Banks, Assistant Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, accepted the 12th annual Armen H. Tashjian Jr. Award for Excellence in Endocrine Research.  Following the award ceremony, he shared his seminar titled, “Next-Generation Methods In Preclinical Obesity Research: Towards A Less Contentious Future”.  The committee is comprised of Sudha Biddinger, MD, Ph.D., David E. Golan, MD, Ph.D., Brendan D. Manning, Ph.D., and Yu-Hua Tseng, Ph.D.

Alexander S. Banks Ph.D.Alexander Banks joined the faculty of the Harvard Medical School as Assistant Professor in 2013. He received his undergraduate degree and PhD from Brandeis University and Columbia University respectively. He performed successive postdoctoral fellowships at Columbia University and then at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute. He is currently in the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center at Harvard Medical School. The Banks lab’s research focuses on the measurement and understanding of the molecular mechanisms driving differences in body weight and metabolic physiology.

Armen’s legacy includes influential contributions to the field of endocrine research, encouragement, and teaching of fellows and students, his unique ability to ask questions that are thought-provoking and stimulating across many fields, and a warm personality that brought people together to make science happen. This annual award is a truly loving response to a great man’s contributions to research and teaching, and his compassion to promote and advocate for young scientists.

2022 will mark the 12th presentation of this award. Previous award winners include Edward T. Choucahni, PhD, Harvard Medical School; Nada Kalaany, MD PhD, Boston Children’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School; William Mair PhD, Associate Professor of Molecular Metabolism Harvard Chan School of Public Health; Mark Anderman, PhD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center; Yu-Hua Tseng, PhD, Joslin Diabetes Center; James Mitchell, PhD, Harvard Chan School of Public Health; Sudha Biddinger MD, PhD, Boston Children’s Hospital; Aaron Martin Cypess, MD, PhD, Harvard Medical School; Quan Lu, PhD, Harvard Chan School of Public Health; Chih-Hao Lee, PhD, Harvard Chan School of Public Health; Brendan D. Manning, PhD Harvard Chan School of Public Health.

The Award Ceremony and lecture will be held as a hybrid event, in-person in Kresge G2 Lecture Hall and via webinar on May 19th, 2022 at 4 pm. In-person reception to follow in Kresge Café at 5 pm.

Webinar Registration is required. If you plan to attend in this medium, please use THIS LINK to register.