About Us

The main focus of the HSPH-NIEHS Nanosafety Center is to bring together scientists from across disciplines- material science, chemistry, exposure assessment, risk assessment, nanotoxicology and nanobiology- to assess the potential environmental Health and safety (EHS) implications of engineered nanomaterials (ENMs). The center brings together researchers from:

  • Harvard University T.H. Chan School of Public Health (HSPH)
  • Harvard University School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS)
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • University of Maine
  • University of Florida

The Nanosafety Center builds upon the nano-related infrastructure in these collaborating universities, developed over the past 10 years, which includes an interdisciplinary research group of faculty, research staff, and students, as well as state-of-the-art platforms to provide:

  • Development of methods for high-throughput synthesis and characterization of ENMs
  • Development of standardized methods and innovative tools to assess the fate and transport of ENMs in biological systems
  • Novel in-vitro and in-vivo platforms for nanotoxicology research
  • Statistical and exposure assessment tools

The center mission is to integrate material/exposure/chemical sciences and nanotoxicology-nanobiology to facilitate assessment of potential risks from emerging nanomaterials. In doing so, we are bringing together the material synthesis/applications and nanotoxicology communities and other stakeholders including industry, policy makers, and the general public to maximize innovation and growth and minimize environmental and public health risks from nanotechnology.

Dr. Philip Demokritou, a faculty member in the Department of Environmental Health and currently the director of the existing interdisciplinary Center for Nanotechnology and Nanotoxicology at HSPH (www.hsph.harvard.edu/nano), is the principal investigator and director of this HSPH-NIEHS Nanosafety Center. Other co-investigators include Professors Michael Strano (MIT), Brij Moudgil (University of Florida), David Bell (Harvard, SEAS), and Douglas Bousfield (University of Maine).

Click here to Learn More