Commencement 2017: Award winners

Students applaud during the annual Commencement Eve Celebration.

May 24, 2017 — Each year, awards are presented to graduating students, faculty, and staff at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Winners were announced at the Commencement Eve Celebration held on May 24, 2017.

Student Awards

John Jungpa Park, right, with Lachlan Forrow, President-Emeritus of The Albert Schweitzer Fellowship

Albert Schweitzer Award
John Jungpa Park

Dr. Fang-Ching Sun Memorial Award
Katie Cueva

Edgar Haber Award in Biological Sciences
Kathleen W. Dantzler

Gareth M. Green Award for Excellence in Public Health Practice
Sidra Naomi Bonner, Ann Crawford-Roberts, Michelle Stephanie Lough, Nana Yaa Misa, Kara Tucker Percival, Nichole Gail Tumaliwan Roxas, Nhi Tu Tran

James H. Ware Award for Achievement in the Practice of Public Health
Theresa Timmes

Olufunso Modupe Agbalajobi

Robert B. Reed Prize for Excellence in Biostatistical Science
Xihao Li

Harvard Chan Student Recognition Awards
Olufunso Modupe Agbalajobi, Katrina Ann Keegan, Asaad Traina

Teaching Assistant Awards
Avanti Bharat Adhia, Matthew David Thomas Hitchings, Thomas Corbin Madsen, Emily Marie Slade

Uwe Brinkmann Memorial Travel Award
Lingrui Liu

Faculty Awards

From left: Cassandra Okechukwu, Sebastien Haneuse, Sonia Hernández-Díaz, Günther Fink

Roger L. Nichols Excellence in Teaching Award
Heather Baer

Teaching Citations
William Bean, David Bloom, Ankur Pandya

Mentoring Awards
Günther Fink, Sebastien Haneuse, Sonia Hernández-Díaz, Cassandra A. Okechukwu

Executive and Continuing Professional Education Excellence in Teaching Award
Leonard Marcus

Staff Awards

Elizabeth Solomon with Stacey Herman

Sarah K. Wood Award
Catherine Barber

Harvard Chan Staff Recognition Awards
Elizabeth Solomon, Amy Wooldridge

Award to Christine McKeller Mitchell
presented by Linh Nguyen, Student Association President-elect, 2017-18

– Marge Dwyer

Photos: Kent Dayton and Sarah Sholes

Additional coverage

Harvard Chan graduates urged to ‘speak truth to power’
Commencement day photo gallery
Commencement eve photo gallery
Commencement slideshow
Storify, a collection of photos taken by students, families, and friends
Dean Michelle Williams address
Former EPA administrator Gina McCarthy address
Watch a webcast of Gina McCarthy’s address
Student speaker William Seligman address
Alumni Council President Sameh El-Saharty address