Former Chairman of the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) 

NILEKANIchairman latest photo No.1Nandan Nilekani was most recently the Chairman of the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) in the rank of a Cabinet Minister. Nandan Nilekani was previously the co-chairman, Infosys Technologies Limited, which he co-founded in 1981.

Born in Bengaluru, Nilekani received his Bachelor’s degree from IIT, Bombay. In 2006, he was awarded the Padma Bhushan.He was also named Businessman of the year by Forbes Asia. Time magazine listed him as one of the 100 most influential people in the world in 2006 & 2009. He is the author of “Imagining India”. Foreign Policy magazine listed him as one of the Top 100 Global thinkers in 2010. He won The Economist Social & Economic Innovation Award for his leadership of India’s Unique Identification initiative (Aadhaar) in 2014.


Nisha Agarwal, Commissioner at NYC Mayor’s Office of Immigrant Affairs

Joseph Atick, Founder and Chairman: Identity Counsel International; Co-founder and Chairman: ID4Africa

Jo Anne Barnhart, former Commissioner of Social Security (2001-2007)

Jacqueline BhabhaDirector of Research, Harvard FXB Center for Health & Human Rights

Edwin Black, International investigative author

Vincenzo Bollettino, Director of the Resilient Communities Program at the Harvard Humanitarian Initiative

Mariana Dahan, Coordinator, ID4D (Identification for Development) Working Group, World Bank

John DeStefano, Jr, former New Haven mayor

Tilman Ehrbeck, Senior Partner, Omidyar Network, former CEO Consultative Group to Assist the Poor (CGAP)

Robert Gellman, Privacy and Information Policy Consultant

Alan GelbSenior fellow, Center for Global Development

Mia Harbitz, Senior expert in public registries, Inter-American Development Bank

Andrew Hopkins, Senior registration officer, UNHCR Geneva

Malavika Jayaram, Fellow, Berkman Center for Internet and Society, Harvard University

Douglas Johnson, Director Carr Center for Human Rights Policy and Lecturer in Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School

Jennifer Leaning, Director, Harvard FXB Center for Health & Human Rights

David Lyon, Professor, Department of Sociology, Director of Surveillance Studies, Queens University, Kingston, Ontario

Tariq Malik, former Chairman NADRA (National Database and Registration Authority) Pakistan

Bronwen Manby, Visiting Senior Fellow, Centre for the Study of Human Rights, London School of Economics and Political Science

Margaret Matache, Instructor, FXB Center for Health & Human Rights, Harvard University

Robert Palacios, Global Lead, Pensions and Social Insurance Group, Social Protection and Labor Practice, World Bank

Ajay Bhushan Pandey, Director General and Mission Director, Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI)

Deborah Rose, Co-chair National ID Conference Harvard, Fellow FXB Center for Health & Human Rights, Harvard University

Ryan Seals, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Department of Epidemiology, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Latanya Sweeney, Professor of Government and Technology in Residence, Director of Data Privacy Lab, Harvard University

Ian Watson, Associate Professor, Media Technology Lab, Gjovik University College, Norway

Edgar Whitley, Associate Professor of Information Systems, London School of Economics

Jonathan Zittrain, Director and Faculty Chair, Berkman Center for Internet and Society, Harvard University