Teaching & Mentoring Awards

The School’s teaching and mentoring awards recognize and celebrate faculty, staff and teaching assistants who enhance the quality of education and student experience at Harvard Chan.

For the names of past award recipients, see here.

Faculty Awards and Recognition

Roger L. Nichols Excellence in Teaching Award

The Roger L. Nichols Excellence in Teaching Award is awarded to a member of the Harvard T.H. Chan School primary faculty who has enhanced the quality of education in public health by honoring outstanding achievement in teaching at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. The award recognizes excellence in classroom instruction, capacity to inspire students, and dedication to teaching.

2020 Award Recipient: Sue Goldie (Health Policy and Management)

Teaching Citations

Teaching citations are awarded to course instructors based on student course evaluations, particularly questions that assess teaching quality and teaching effectiveness.

2020 Award Recipients: Jessica Cohen (Global Health and Population), Kim Gauvreau (Biostatistics), Elizabeth Mostofsky (Epidemiology), John McDonough (Health Policy and Management)

Mentoring Awards

Mentoring awards are based on student nominations and recognize faculty members or instructors who have enriched the academic, professional, or personal development of students.

2020 Award Recipients: Monique Jimenez (Epidemiology), Nick Menzies (Global Health and Population), and Maggie McConnell (Global Health and Population)

Teaching Assistant Award

TA awards recognize the important contributions of teaching assistants to education at Harvard Chan, and are based on student course evaluations.

2020 Award Recipients: Aayush Khadka (Health Policy and Management), Nazleen Khan (Epidemiology), Jonathan Larson (Biostatistics), Circe LeCompte (Social and Behavioral Sciences), and Michele Zemplenyi (Biostatistics)