Graduation 2021: Awards Presentation

two students in graduation regalia

May 26, 2021 — Each year, awards are presented to graduating students, faculty, and staff at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Winners were announced at a virtual celebration May 26, 2021.

Dean Michelle Williams also presented the Next Gen Award to Lia Tadesse, minister of health, Ethiopia. This award honors an individual under age 40 whose leadership and commitment to health as a human right inspires all young people to make “health for all” a global priority.

Watch the presentation on-demand here.

Student Awards

Gareth M. Green Award for Excellence in Public Health Practice
Fortunate Chifamba
Masafumi Funato
Penny Sun

Edgar Haber Award in Biological Sciences
Margaret Torrence

Robert B. Reed Prize for Excellence in Biostatistical Science
Eric Cohn

Dr. Fang-Ching Sun Memorial Award
Andrew Chun

James H. Ware Award for Achievement in the Practice of Public Health
Wilfredo Matias

Student Recognition Award
Sana Farooqui

Teaching Assistant Award
Onisha Etkins
Tiffany Lemon
Obiageli Okafor
Kathryn Tomsho
Jinyi Zhu

Faculty Awards

The Roger L. Nichols Excellence in Teaching Award
John McDonough, professor of public health practice

Teaching Citations
Linda Cyr, lecturer on health management
Cyra Perry Dougherty, instructor in the Office of Educational Programs
Fawn Phelps, instructor and director of leadership development
Ameet Sarpatwari, assistant professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management
Aisha Yousafzai, associate professor of global health

Mentoring Awards
Jarvis Chen, lecturer in the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Peter James, assistant professor of population medicine
Rebekka Lee, research scientist in the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Executive and Continuing Professional Excellence in Teaching  Award
Karen Curley, instructor in the Division of Policy Translation and Leadership Development

Staff Awards

The Sarah K. Wood Award for Outstanding Staff Performance
Eric DiGiovanni, assistant director of graduate studies, Department of Epidemiology

Staff Recognition Award
Lilu Barbosa, chief diversity, inclusion, and belonging officer
Eric Creighton, program coordinator, Biological Sciences in Public Health

Community Engagement Award
Danny Beaudoin, director of planning and facilities
Jocelyn Chu, assistant director of DrPH field practice