Graduation 2022: Award winners

Clapping for award winners
Clapping for award winners at May 25 Convocation

May 25, 2022 – Each year, awards are presented to graduating students, faculty, and staff at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Winners were announced at the School’s Convocation on May 25, 2022.

Student Awards

Dr. Fang-Ching Sun Memorial Award
Abrania Marrero Hernández

Edgar Haber Award in Biological Sciences
Kevin Ma

Gareth M. Green Award for Excellence in Public Health
Samuel Anthony Johnston

James H. Ware Award for Achievement in the Practice of Public Health
Patience Sumbawiera Saaka

Robert B. Reed Prize for Excellence in Biostatistical Science
Tony Chen
Jenna Landy
Zebin Wang

Student Recognition Award
Davy Deng
Ivy Fangyu Lin

Teaching Assistant Award
Elizabeth Lauren Hentschel
Bethany Kotlar
Jessica Liu
Anna Siefkas
Alejandro Szmulewicz

Faculty Awards

The Roger L. Nichols Excellence in Teaching Award
Ankur Pandya, associate professor of health decision science

Teaching Citations
Albert Hofman, Stephen B. Kay Family Professor of Public Health and Clinical Epidemiology and chair of the Department of Epidemiology
Rocio Hurtado, assistant professor in the Department of Immunology and Infectious Diseases
Shoba Ramanadhan, assistant professor of social and behavioral sciences
Edward Thomas Ryan, professor in the Department of Immunology and Infectious Diseases

Mentoring Awards
Emma-Louise “Emmilie” Aveling, research scientist, Department of Health Policy and Management
Jaime Elizabeth Hart, associate professor of environmental health in the Department of Environmental Health
Lorelei Mucci, professor of epidemiology

Executive and Continuing Professional Education Excellence in Teaching Award

Rifat Atun, professor of global health systems

Staff Awards

The Sarah K. Wood Award
Jaime Mchunu, assistant director of operations and strategy in the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Staff Recognition Award
Amy De La Cerda, senior program coordinator in the Office for Student Affairs

Community Engagement Award
Lumas Joseph Helaire, assistant dean for population health management and health equity education and visiting lecturer, Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences