Join us to celebrate on Tuesday May 23 at 11:30 am on the Courtyard Plaza

Each year several awards are presented to graduating students, faculty, and staff at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. The criteria and nomination processes vary. Please visit each award for more information.

Award recipients

View the 2023 award recipients

Student awards

Albert Schweitzer Award

A certificate to one or more graduating students whose past work and current activities exemplify a reverence for life and who have sought, as expressed by Schweitzer, “to make my life my argument.”

2022  –

Dr. Fang-Ching Sun Memorial Award

Awarded each year to an outstanding graduating student at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health who is dedicated to promoting the health of vulnerable people.

2022   Abrania Marrero Hernández

Edgar Haber Award

Presented annually to one graduating Ph.D. or S.D. student in the Division of Biological Sciences at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

2022   Kevin Ma

Gareth M. Green Award for Excellence in Public Health Practice

Recognizes a student team or individual whose project in public health practice contributes to the improvement of health of a defined population and makes a significant contribution to the public health practice knowledge base.

2022   Samuel Anthony Johnston

James H. Ware Award for Achievement in the Practice of Public Health

Awarded to a student upon graduation who has demonstrated commitment and achievement and has advanced the cause of public health practice while enrolled as a student at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

2022   Patience Sumbawiera Saaka

Marianne Wessling-Resnick Biological Sciences in Public Health (BPH) Student Service Award

Presented annually in July to a current student or student team who has shown extraordinary commitment to the improvement of the program and experience of fellow students at Harvard. Awarded to a student who has gone above and beyond their normal training and daily tasks to improve the experience and well-being of BPH peers and, through dedication and depth of service, demonstrated leadership and commitment to the members of the Harvard community.

2023   Kiwi Florido, Lissah Johnson

Robert B. Reed Prize for Excellence in Biostatistical Science

The Robert Balentine Reed Prize for Excellence in Biostatistical Science is awarded each year to the student(s) receiving the highest grade on the Department’s written qualifying exam.

2022   Tony Chen, Jenna Landy, Zebin Wang

Student Recognition Award

Honors a graduating student who has demonstrated, through student activities and/or community service efforts, a commitment to leadership, volunteerism, and the highest ethical standards.

2022   Davy Deng, Ivy Fangyu Lin

Teaching Fellow Award

TF awards recognize the important contributions of teaching assistants to education at Harvard Chan, and are based on student course evaluations.

2022   Elizabeth Lauren Hentschel, Bethany Kotlar, Jessica Liu, Anna Siefkas, Alejandro Szmulewicz

Uwe Brinkmann Memorial Travel Award

Awarded each year to an outstanding doctoral student conducting field research in international health epidemiology.

2022  –

Faculty awards

Executive and Continuing Professional Education Excellence in Teaching Award

2022   Rifat Atun

Marianne Wessling-Resnick Memorial Mentoring Award

The award honors Marianne Wessling-Resnick’s memory by supporting faculty members at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health in recognition of their commitment and achievement in the areas of mentorship, academic excellence, and service to the community, with a preference for recipients who have demonstrated exceptional mentorship, especially of women.

Mentoring Awards

Mentoring awards are based on student nominations and recognize faculty members or instructors who have enriched the academic, professional, or personal development of students.

2022   Emma-Louise “Emmilie” Aveling, Jaime Elizabeth Hart, Lorelei Mucci

Roger L. Nichols Excellence in Teaching Award

The Roger L. Nichols Excellence in Teaching Award is awarded to a member of the Harvard T.H. Chan School primary faculty who has enhanced the quality of education in public health by honoring outstanding achievement in teaching at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. The award recognizes excellence in classroom instruction, capacity to inspire students, and dedication to teaching.

2022   Ankur Pandya

Sastry Award for Outstanding Teaching in Public Health

Established through the generosity of Dr. Srinivas Sastry, the Sastry Award for Outstanding Teaching of Public Health recognizes up to two faculty members each academic year for their significant impact on students and the ways they have, through excellent teaching, inspired students to reach their public health goals. Individuals will receive $10,000 in celebration of their significant impact on students.

2022   Jesse Boardman Bump, Nancy Turnbull

Teaching Citation Award

Teaching citations are awarded to course instructors based on student course evaluations, particularly questions that assess teaching quality and teaching effectiveness.

2022   Albert Hofman, Rocio Hurtado, Shoba Ramanadhan, Edward Thomas Ryan

Staff awards

Community Engagement Award

This award represents a unique opportunity for students and community members to recognize faculty, researchers, and staff who have served as a source of inspiration by demonstrating a commitment to improving health and well-being in the communities where they work.

2022   Lumas Joseph Helaire

Sarah K. Wood Award for Outstanding Staff Performance

This award recognizes a staff member who demonstrates the qualities of dedication, competence, positive attitude, initiative, and ability to mentor, encourage, and inspire others, in addition to a demonstrated commitment to the School and its mission.

2022   Jaime Mchunu

Staff Recognition Award

Awarded to Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health staff who have made a significant impact on the lives of students at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

2022   Amy De La Cerda