Mission Statement

The Department of Environmental Health (EH) believes that the essence of public health is the primary prevention of disease. EH’s mission is to contribute to the maintenance and improvement of the health of all people through global leadership in research and training in environmental health.

Department Structure

The Department of Environmental Health focuses on complex problems that require a multi-disciplinary approach. Teaching is carried out through three concentrations:

There are also four Centers housed within the Department of Environmental Health:



Doctor of Science Master of Science Master of Public Health
Raphael Arku Calvin Bannister Morteza Asgarzadeh
Jose Guillermo Cedeno Laurent Chi-Hsuan Chang William Shane Journeay
Nancy Diao Chrisy Chanataraspok Kevin Loh
Iny Jhun Justine Dupal Bryant Martin
Don Kriens Emily Eshleman Ana Sandoval
Mihye Lee Rui Hu Samuel Turner
Sandra Pirela Jina Kim
Emily Sparer Hannah Laue Medical Residents
Kathryn Taylor Mallory Leblanc Laurent Benedetti
Peter Umukoro Lisa Rokoff Mason Harrell
Muzo Wu Amelia Valberg Soni Matthew
Christopher Zevitas Yan Wang
Yinyin Xu
Yi Zhang


See our Department Calendar here for all upcoming events.
Click here for upcoming student events.

For the entire year’s Colloquium schedule and other seminars, see EVENTS.