Profs. Rosenthal, Brennan named to national commission on physician payment reform

Two HSPH faculty members have been appointed to the new National Commission on Physician Payment Reform, sponsored by the Society for General Internal Medicine (SGIM). Meredith B. Rosenthal, professor of health economics and policy, and [[Troyen Brennan]], adjunct professor of health policy and management at HSPH and executive vice president and chief medical officer of CVS Caremark and CVS Pharmacy, Inc., have been appointed to the new commission.

The new independent commission, announced March 5, 2012, will assess how physicians are paid and how pay incentives are linked to patient care. In an effort to contain health care costs projected to reach $4.5 trillion by 2019, the group will issue recommendations on reforming the physician payment system while ensuring good outcomes for patients.

The panel is chaired by Steven Schroeder, former president of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. William “Bill” Frist, surgeon and former Senate majority leader, is honorary chair.

Learn more

Read the SGIM press release

Commission members and bios