Winner of 2021 Armen H. Tashjian Award for Excellence in Endocrine Research

We are excited to announce Dr. Edward T. ChouchaniDr. Chouchani of Harvard Medical School as the winner of the 2021 Armen H. Tashjian Jr. Award for Excellence in Endocrine Research. This award was established to recognize scholars early in their careers who are pursuing novel areas of discovery in endocrine and related areas of research. The committee is comprised of Sudha Biddinger, MD, Ph.D.; David E. Golan, MD, Ph.D.; Gökhan S. Hotamışlıgil, MD, Ph.D.; Brendan D. Manning, Ph.D.; Yu-Hua Tseng, Ph.D.

Edward Chouchani joined the faculty of Harvard Medical School as an Assistant Professor of Cell Biology in 2017. He received his Ph.D. in Biological Sciences at the University of Cambridge and MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit. He then performed postdoctoral research at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School. Dr. Chouchani’s research has focused on determining the mechanisms through which bioenergetic processes control physiological adaptation in health and disease.

Professor of Toxicology, Emeritus, and former chair of the then-named Department of Molecular and Cellular Toxicology at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, Armen Tashjian was celebrated for his neuroendocrine research, contributing to a life-saving test for a pre-cancerous condition associated with inherited thyroid cancer and playing a key role in the development of two drugs for the treatment and prevention of osteoporosis. Dr. Tashjian’s legacy includes influential contributions to the field of endocrine research, encouragement, and teaching of fellows and students, his unique ability to ask questions that are thought-provoking and stimulating across many fields, and a warm personality that brought people together to make science happen. This annual award is a truly loving response to a great man’s contributions to research and teaching, and his compassion to promote and advocate for young scientists.

This year will mark the 11th presentation of this award. Previous award winners are: Will Mair, Ph.D., Harvard Chan School of Public Health; Mark Anderman, Ph.D., Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center; Yu-Hua Tseng, Ph.D., Joslin Diabetes Center; James Mitchell, Ph.D., Harvard Chan School of Public Health; Sudha Biddinger MD, Ph.D., Boston Children’s Hospital; Aaron Martin Cypress, MD, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School; Quan Lu, Ph.D., Harvard Chan School of Public Health; Brendan D. Manning, Ph.D. Harvard Chan School of Public Health; Nada Kalaany, Ph.D. Boston Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School.

The Award Ceremony and lecture will be held as a webinar on Thursday, May 13,  at 4:00 p.m. This event is free and open to all, registration is required: