Myrto Award

The Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lectureship

This Year’s Winner

Antonio GasparriniWe are extremely pleased to announce that Dr. Antonio Gasparrini, Professor of Biostatistics and Epidemiology at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, will be the recipient of the 2021 Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lectureship!

Please join us for his virtual lecture on:
Thursday, September 23, 2021  |  1-2pm 
Zoom information. Contact for questions.

Modelling epidemiological associations with time-varying variables: A historical perspective and novel approaches

The question of modelling health risks associated with exposures varying over time is a key issue in epidemiological research. A number of methods, including study designs and statistical techniques, have been developed across different research areas such as cancer, environmental, clinical, and pharmaco-epidemiology, some of which sharing interesting features. In this lecture, I will focus on two aspects that have challenged epidemiologists and biostatisticians for a long time when trying to define and quantify health effects of time-varying exposures: how to control for potential confounding effects by other risk factors, and how to model potentially complex temporal dependencies. I will first provide a historical perspective, illustrating how the same problems have been tackled in different epidemiological fields, and then I will discuss more recent modelling approaches that I contributed to.

– – –

Dr. Antonio Gasparrini has distinguished himself as a highly productive and impactful researcher–both methodological and collaborative– a committed and talented teacher, an extremely effective leader and a dedicated mentor.

Dr. Gasparrini is a founding member of the Centre for Statistical Methodology and leads the ‘Multi-Country Multi-City Collaborative Research Network’ (MCC). The MCC is an international collaboration of research teams working to produce epidemiological evidence and contribute to the global epidemiological perspective on associations between environmental stressors, climate, and health. Research from Dr. Gasparrini’s work with MCC has been extremely impactful, with results being published in the New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet, BMJ and PloS Medicine.

Dr. Gasparinni has also developed epidemiological designs and statistical techniques that have become the state-of-the-art in environmental epidemiology, including distributed lag non-linear models, multivariate meta-analysis and the case time series. His methods have been used in hundreds of published studies and he has been praised by his colleagues who have said “his contribution to novel biostatistical research has leveraged environmental epidemiology to a new era.”

Finally, Dr. Gasparrini has proven to be an exceptional teacher, both locally at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and internationally, through his development of statistical software, tutorials and courses. He has developed an introductory course on the R software, developed R packages and Stata code, and published multiple hands-on tutorials widely used by epidemiologists, biostatisticians and PhD students.

Dr. Gasparrini truly embodies the spirit of this award that honors the legacy of Dr. Myrto Lefkopoulou. We look forward to his lecture in September!

Career Highlights

  • Co-author, 120 peer-reviewed journal articles (34 as first/last author)
  • 12 commentaries (6 as first/last author), which amassed thousands of citations (9426 on Google Scholar and 5944 on ISI Web of Knowledge)
  • Founding member, the Centre for Statistical Methodology
  • Founding Member, the Centre Management Group of the Centre on Climate Change and Planetary Health
  • Coordinator, the Multi-Country Multi-City Collaborative Research Network (MCC)
  • Associate Editor, Environmental Health Perspectives
  • Editorial Board, Environmental Epidemiology
  • Best Environmental Epidemiology Paper, selected by the International Society for Environmental Epidemiology (ISEE), 2015
  • Bradford Hill Prize, awarded to the best research degree student in methodological research of the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, 2012

About the Award

myrtoThe Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lectureship was established in perpetuity in memory of Dr. Myrto Lefkopoulou, a faculty member and graduate of Harvard School of Public Health. Dr. Lefkopoulou tragically died of cancer in 1992 at the age of 34 after a courageous two-year battle. She was deeply beloved by friends, students, and faculty.

Each year the lectureship is awarded to a promising statistician who has made contributions to either collaborative or methodologic research in the applications of statistical methods to biology or medicine, and/or who has shown excellence in the teaching of biostatistics. Ordinarily, the lectureship is given to a statistician who has earned a doctorate in the last fifteen years. The lecture is presented to a general scientific audience as the first Department colloquium of each academic year. The lectureship includes travel to Boston, a reception following the lecture, and an honorarium of $1000.


Nominations are welcome for next year’s award, to be given in September 2022.

Please send nominations via email

Nominations should include a letter describing the contributions of the candidate, specifically highlighting the criteria for the award, and a curriculum vita. An other supporting materials would be extremely helpful to the committee.

All nominations must be received by Friday, June 3, 2022.

Past Recipients

2020  Eric Tchetgen Tchetgen
2019  Veera Baladandayuthapani
2018  Elizabeth Stuart
2017  Ciprian Crainiceanu
2016  Mahlet Tadesse
2015  Debashis Ghosh
2014  Tianxi Cai
2013  Nilanjan Chatterjee
2012  Rafael Irizarry
2011  Jeffrey Morris
2010  David Dunson
2009  Xihong Lin
2008  Heping Zhang
2007  Francesca Dominici
2006  Jianqing Fan
2005  Mark van der Laan
2004  Geert Molenberghs
2003  Marie Davidian
2002  Danyu Lin
2001  Bradley P. Carlin
2000  Steven N. Goodman
1999  Giovanni Parmigianni
1998  Kathryn Roeder
1997  Ronald S. Brookmeyer
1996  Trevor J. Hastie
1995  Hans-George Mueller
1994  Michael L. Boehnke
1993  Louise Ryan