Dr. Amy H. Herring to Receive Lagakos Alumni Award

We are extremely pleased to announce that Dr. Amy H. Herring, ScD ’99, will be the recipient of the 2018 Lagakos Distinguished Alumni Award. Dr. Herring will accept the award and deliver a lecture this fall.

Dr. Herring graduated from the department in 1999, after she defended her dissertation on “Missing Covariates in Survival Analysis”. Her advisor was Dr. Joseph G. Ibrahim. Dr. Herring is currently Professor of Statistical Science and Research Professor of Global Health at Duke University. She has distinguished herself through her widely acclaimed research contributions to public health and biostatistics, and her outstanding record of service to our profession.

Highlights of Dr. Herring’s honors and achievements:

  • President of the Eastern North American Region of the International Biometrics Society
  • Fellow of the American Statistical Association (ASA)
  • Chair of the Biometrics and Epidemiology Sections for AS
  • Associate Editor of the Journal of the ASA
  • American Public Health Association’s Mortimer Spiegelman Award for outstanding public health statistician under age 40
  • ASA Gertrude M. Cox Award for outstanding contributions to applied statistics
  • Twice named co-author for best paper of the year in Biometrics, from the International Biometric Society
  • Co-Director of Duke Forge, Duke’s Center for Actionable Health Data Science
  • Member of the Committee on Applied and Theoretical Statistics for the National Academy of Sciences
  • Member of the Research Committee of the Health Effects Institute
  • Member of the Institute of Medicine Consensus Committee on Obesity Trends
  • More than 225 peer-reviewed publications in top journals, including the American Journal of Epidemiology, Biometrics, Biostatistics, Epidemiology, Journal of the American Statistical Association, Journal of the Royal Statistical Society, Statistics in Medicine
  • Teaching Innovation Award for Biostatistics, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health, 2012, 2013, and 2016
  • McGavran Award for Excellence in Teaching, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health, 2010