New Student & Postdoc Awards

Isabel Fulcher and Ben Wong have both been selected to receive one of the American Statistical Society’s Section on Statistics in Epidemiology Young Investigator Awards. The awards are intended to defray travel costs for each student to attend the 2017 Joint Statistical Meeting to present their work.

Postdoc Stephanie Hicks received an NIH Pathway to Independence Award (K99/R00 grant) from NHGRI. Her project, Statistical Methods for theNormalization and Quantification of Single-Cell RNA-Sequencing Data, proposes a statistical methodology that will result in an improved quantification and understanding of transcriptional heterogeneity in individual cells. Detailed knowledge of transcriptional heterogeneity from individual cells can lead to new biological discoveries including novel cell types and the diagnosis, prognosis, and therapeutic response in disease. Stephanie works in Rafael Irizarry’s lab.

Postdoc Marieke Kuijjer has been named as the recipient of the 2016 Sara Elizabeth O’Brien Trust Postdoctoral Research Fellowship for her project, Modeling the Effects of Gene Regulation on Cancer Survival. The award period will be from 9/1/2016-8/31/2018. Marieke works in John Quackenbush’s lab.